Honda or Suzuki

jboogie
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male

Honda or Suzuki

#1 Unread post by jboogie »

I have been riding for 13 years and have never had anything bigger than a 650. My first 7 bikes were sport bikes and last summer I wanted to get a more comfortable cruiser. I bought the S40. Now I am wanting more in a bike and can't decide between the Honda VTX 1300 or the Suzuki M50. Both are about same price. Which would be better for two riders, and still be good for a person who still wants the fast sport bike? :mrgreen:

Scott58
Legendary 750
Legendary 750

#2 Unread post by Scott58 »

Faster then those 2 would be the S50, but you'll trade a bit of comfort for it.
05 Honda Rebel
04 Spitfire Cub-24
05Suzuki S50

ZooTech
Legendary 3000
Legendary 3000
Years Riding: 18
My Motorcycle: Nomad / Ninja 500 / VLX Bobber / C3 / VS

Re: Honda or Suzuki

#3 Unread post by ZooTech »

jboogie wrote:Which would be better for two riders, and still be good for a person who still wants the fast sport bike? :mrgreen:
As a sporty cruiser for a solo rider, the M50 is probably the better bet. However, if you're going 2-up, the extra cc's in the VTX will really help. All of the reviews I have read regarding the VXT1300 praised the handling, ergos, and brakes. And the rear quarters should be more accomodating to your passenger.

Of course, $9,599.00 (MSRP for a VTX1300) is not that far off from the cost of a new Mean Streak, and is more than enough for a well-equipped used one, if you're so inclined. The Meanie utilizes sport-touring rubber, inverted front forks, and sport bike brakes. It's plenty big for all-day two-up riding, and can hold its own when the compass goes into spin mode.

jboogie
Rookie
Rookie

#4 Unread post by jboogie »