Nolan N-102

sharpmagna
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Sex: Male

Nolan N-102

#1 Unread post by sharpmagna »

Well first I should tell you that I'm brand new to motorcycling and this is my first helmet. With that being said, I really like my Nolan helmet. At first I was not looking at purchasing a Modular helmet, but instead wanted a full face. Well after looking at the N-102 at the local shop I figured I'd get a really nice helmet for my first one. Since it is designed to save my life, I might as well enjoy the features.

The latcheting system is very easy to use once you know how. At first I could not figure out how to flip open the helmet. After looking at it for a few seconds I figured you had to pinch the red componenets together and that opens the helmet. I can see how this would be very difficult to open by accident, but I can easily flip it open with one hand.

I like the quick release chin strap. I tried other helmets and found it annoying to have to buckle and strap the chin straps. The N-102 has an adjustable quick release retention system and it works very well for me now that I have it adjusted to my liking. Also it is very easy to adjust.

One of the big things I love about the helmet is what Nolan calls the VPS or Vision Protection System. It is essentially a tinted shield that goes over the regular face shield. It operates independently of the regular shield. It comes in handy all the time as sometimes it is very sunny and I can flip down the VPS when needed and then flip it back up whenI go through a dimmer area. I've never had a problem with it mistakenly flipping down. Also, it is kind of nifty when you are cruising with the VPS down and a bug splatters on the VPS and obscures your vision. You can quickly flip it up and see clearly again. The N-102 comes with some pieces in case you do not want to use the VPS (But why wouldn't you!)