MSF or self-learn riding

beginner
Elite
Elite

#1 Unread post by beginner »

[quote]Here in Florida, it's now mandatory to take the MSF course before you can get your endorsement, so even if a lot of people DO get a bike to save on gas money, they'll have to take a safety course (that is, of course, assuming they are all honest law-abiding citizens). Hopefully that will dissuade the more casual would-be riders.[/quote]

The problem is formal training doesn't seem to reduce crash involvement. A couple days of instruction isn't making a difference.

I started riding in June 08. I did an hour of PLP every day for six months, 150 hours, before winter. I'm still not certain I can maneuver my bike at least as well as my car--so it's certain I can't. I'm still a beginner.

When beginners are looking for encouragement they don't get a useful practice message from the MSF or from the riding community. Beginners are not being advised properly.

Lion_Lady
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 20
My Motorcycle: 2013 BMW R1200R 90th Anniversary

#2 Unread post by Lion_Lady »

beginner wrote:
roncg41677 wrote:Here in Florida, it's now mandatory to take the MSF course before you can get your endorsement, so even if a lot of people DO get a bike to save on gas money, they'll have to take a safety course (that is, of course, assuming they are all honest law-abiding citizens). Hopefully that will dissuade the more casual would-be riders.
The problem is formal training doesn't seem to reduce crash involvement. A couple days of instruction isn't making a difference.

I started riding in June 08. I did an hour of PLP every day for six months, 150 hours, before winter. I'm still not certain I can maneuver my bike at least as well as my car--so it's certain I can't. I'm still a beginner.

When beginners are looking for encouragement they don't get a useful practice message from the MSF or from the riding community. Beginners are not being advised properly.