Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 4
My Motorcycle: 2006 Yamaha VStar 1100 Classic Silverado

Risers

#1 Unread post by Yammy1100 »

Hi All.
I have been riding my Vstar 1100 for a few years now. I am used to it and can handle it no problem but it is not an ideal fit because the handlebars force me to lean too far forward. I want to get handlebar risers but am unsure if they will raise my arms too high. I like where my arms are now, just not the reach and uncomfortable posture. I would like to know if getting the 4 inch kickback risers, or the risers that just leave it at stock height but give a 2 inch kickback would be best for me. I am leery about spending the money and installing the wrong kind of risers for fear of uninstall and return shipping costs. Does anyone have any insight or experience with both of these types of risers? Thank you in advance for any feedback.
http://thumbs1.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/ ... qs52dg.jpg
http://thumbs4.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/ ... 0CSMNg.jpg

Meanie
Legendary
Legendary
Sex: Male

Re: Risers

#2 Unread post by Meanie »

You can still adjust the handlebars to your desired height after installing new risers. If the current stock bars don't work when installing longer risers, consider after market bars for the perfect fit. Though, when installing longer risers, take into consideration you may need longer cables and/or hoses. I cannot confirm what's needed for the V-Star, but you'll have to measure and determine how much slack/play you currently have.
Friends help you move. Real friends help you move bodies.

Yammy1100
Rookie
Rookie

#3 Unread post by Yammy1100 »

Hi,
Thank you for the answer Legendary 300. I have decided to go with 3.5 inch risers, with a 1.5 inch kickback. Will post again to let all know how fitment was regarding cables. And whether or not 3.5 is a good fit for me. I am a 5'5" female riding VStar 1100. If this improves my reach I hope by posting end results I can help someone else with this issue.