How many times have you dropped your bike?

How many times did you drop your bike in your first year of riding?

None. I was lucky!
35%
Once
19%
Twice
8%
Three times
19%
Four times
3%
Oh, god... lots of times!
16%

Total votes: 37

LennyB
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male

How many times have you dropped your bike?

#1 Unread post by LennyB »

I'm just starting out, and after a response to my last posting (re: buying Monster S2R), I thought it'd be interesting to get a sense of how common it is for noobs to drop their bikes. What was YOUR first year of riding like?

TechTMW
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Years Riding: 10
My Motorcycle: 2005 BMW R1200GS

#2 Unread post by TechTMW »

I dropped it twice in the first year - But neither time on the road.

The first time I was practicing riding in a sandy lot (Just to get a feel for different conditions) and the bike slid out and tipped over. But it was sand, so no damage.

The second time, I parked the bike in the Yard on the centerstand. It rained overnight, and the centerstand had sunk into the mud and the bike fell over. Mildly bent handlebar. :roll:
“People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.”
- Soren Kierkegaard (19th century Danish philosopher)

Gadjet
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold
Years Riding: 19
My Motorcycle: 2020 KTM 200 Duke

#3 Unread post by Gadjet »

Three times for me, all within the first month. Thanks to the engine guards on my bike at the time, there was no damage from any of the drops.
1983 Suzuki GS650GL (sold)
2005 Kawasaki KLR 650 (sold)
2020 KTM 200 Duke
IBA#20953
IG: @greenmanwc

Keyoke
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Years Riding: 22
My Motorcycle: 1993 Yamaha TDM

#4 Unread post by Keyoke »