ofblong
Legendary 2500
Legendary 2500
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 4
My Motorcycle: 1996 Honda Shadow Deluxe VLX

My learning as I go blog

#1 Unread post by ofblong »

Now that I have to actually start doing some real mechanical work on my bike I will take pictures of the work as I go and post them here. By no means am I an auto/motorcycle mechanic. I am an Industrial Mechanic but thats a little different then working on auto's lol.
96' Honda Shadow Deluxe VLX
Dream bike: Ducati Multistrada 1100S
[img]http://hdbits.org/pic/smilies/hdlove.gif[/img]

ofblong
Legendary 2500
Legendary 2500

#2 Unread post by ofblong »

Well got around to getting my chain sprockets ordered and the new chian break/rivet tool.

below are some pics of me doing the work though I dont have the chain yet (supposed to be here wed) and I dont have any brake cleaner to clean the rear brake area up so I didnt put the rear tire back on yet.

anyways onto the pics of what I have done so far.

This one shows how much chain slop there is when the tension isnt set. plenty of room to use the chain break/rivet tool.

This shows how dirty the chain gaurd is. good thing this thing is on there otherwise hello dirty passenger lol

The drive sprocket was very worn. so worn that you can see the nice divits the chain made in the main part of the sprocket.

The old chain. Looks like this wasnt the origional chain as it has a clip type link on it.

New drive sprocket installed. pretty cool how it works with the front clip. Though it would seem the clip cant be flipped 180 degrees as the holes wouldnt line up that way. I didnt take the time to experiment to make sure but it seemed that way :D. Dont worry I am gonna clean all the "dust n stuff" before I put the chain on.

main shaft holding the rear tire on.

The next 2 pics show how the new sprocket must fit more than one type of motorcycle (lol go figure) in that on my bike one set of holes is larger the other set of holes. My bike fits the smaller set.