Lack of Support for U.S. troops

NYGiantsGuy
Regular
Regular

Lack of Support for U.S. troops

#1 Unread post by NYGiantsGuy »

I have a rant/ am asking for others' input. As a novice, I try to keep up with the efforts of the IAVA in raising awareness and support for our troops returning home. Recently they solicited on the internet 111,000 "pledges of support." No money, just a few seconds to essentially sign a petition of support. I was disappointed and surprised to learn that they fell far short of their goal. By, like, 90,000 or something.

I know when our troops come home they are greeted with joy and respect, unlike in the Vietnam era, but this sort of apathy gets me wondering. Are people just sick of the conflicts overseas? Did not enough people know about this particular effort (it was just one thing, after all)? I'm concerned, in literally the simplest ways, people are unwilling to support our military men and women.

Thoughts?

Johnj
Site Supporter - Platinum
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 34
My Motorcycle: A Bolt of Lightning

#2 Unread post by Johnj »

There is a big difference between supporting our troops and fawning over them.

Does this "pledge of support" include revealing your e-mail address?

FYI I do support the military, I don't agree with the politicians that use it incorrectly.

However I never respond to any "chain letter" deals.
People say I'm stupid and apathetic. I don't know what that means, and I don't care.
Always wear a helmet, eye protection, and protective clothing. Never ride under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Nalian
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R

#3 Unread post by Nalian »

I would not sign something like that - to me the feel meaningless. I'm not sure what it does other than really make the people who are creating it and some people who sign it feel better. I mean, was there something attached to hitting that number - was it going out there? What was the point of it?