Site Supporter - Diamond
Site Supporter - Diamond
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 42
My Motorcycle: Yamaha XJR-1300/Harley-Davidson Roadking

INTRODUCE yourself here 8)

#1 Unread post by CentralOzzy »

Hi & WELCOME to the -= Harley Owners Discussion Corner =-

Please introduce yourself here & tell us a little bit about yourself & the Harley's you have owned, have or want to buy in the future.

THANKS!

centralozzy

:wink:

Gummiente
Site Supporter - Platinum
Years Riding: 38
My Motorcycle: 03 Super Glide

#2 Unread post by Gummiente »

So, Oz, what's YOUR story? :)

Anyway, I've been riding for 24 years now on a few different brands, including Harley. There's a bit of a bio on my homepage if you want to find out more. My first HD was a leftover new '86 Sportster 1100 that I bought new in '87. Had to trade my beloved '71 BSA A65T to swing the deal, but that Sporty was worth it. Rode that bike for 7 years and 120,000km with only a few problems, even had a Velorex sidecar hooked up to it for a couple years. My dream bike was the FLHS but back then the prices kept going up every year and I never could afford one.

After years of enduring Sportster put-downs by other Harley riders and being disappointed at Harley's new strategy of going after the yuppie dollar, I began looking for other bikes when it came time to trade in the Sporty. I ended up going to Triumph (after a failed attempt at negotiating a deal on a then new '95 BMW R100) and left the Harley family for 8 years before returning with the purchase of a new '04 FLHT back in Dec '03. By now the FLHS had been replaced with the Road King and I almost went for one of those, but the FLHT was priced a full $1k below and came with a fairing. I had that big FL for two years and 56,000km before trading in on a new '06 FXDI Super Glide. LOVE the 6-speed and fuel injection on this baby!