Computer questions and solutions....thereof...

Message
Author
blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#521 Unread post by blues2cruise » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:27 pm

MrShake wrote:Its probably more likely a network infrastructure issue than a server size issue.
Well, whatever it is, it's horrible to work with.
Image

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#522 Unread post by blues2cruise » Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:14 pm

I have a question about partitions.....someone suggested that it is better to have partitions so that all your work would not be lost in the event of a crash.....

Is this like having 2 hard drives in one?

Is this something that needs to be done by a pro..if it needs doing at all?
Image

User avatar
dr_bar
Site Supporter - Diamond
Site Supporter - Diamond
Posts: 4531
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 10:37 am
Real Name: Doug
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 44
My Motorcycle: 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Venture
Location: Surrey BC, Canada

#523 Unread post by dr_bar » Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:16 pm

I have a question...

What would stop IE from connecting to the web even when the router has a good connection?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Four wheels move the body.
Two wheels move the soul!"

User avatar
Skier
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 2243
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 4:44 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Pullman, WA, USA
Contact:

#524 Unread post by Skier » Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:34 pm

dr_bar wrote:I have a question...

What would stop IE from connecting to the web even when the router has a good connection?
IE only? Can you ping sites?
[url=http://www.motoblag.com/blag/]Practicing the dark and forgotten art of using turn signals since '98.[/url]

User avatar
Amdonim
Legendary 300
Legendary 300
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:20 pm
Real Name: AJ
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 10
My Motorcycle: 2000 ZG1000
Location: Alabama

#525 Unread post by Amdonim » Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:36 pm

blues2cruise wrote:I have a question about partitions.....someone suggested that it is better to have partitions so that all your work would not be lost in the event of a crash.....

Is this like having 2 hard drives in one?

Is this something that needs to be done by a pro..if it needs doing at all?
It's relatively easy to do, I'm just not sure any way to do it with Windows already installed. It's easy enough to do while installing windows. Just make one partition big enough for programs and windows, and make another for your personal files etc...

User avatar
dr_bar
Site Supporter - Diamond
Site Supporter - Diamond
Posts: 4531
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 10:37 am
Real Name: Doug
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 44
My Motorcycle: 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Venture
Location: Surrey BC, Canada

#526 Unread post by dr_bar » Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:54 am

No, I can't ping...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Four wheels move the body.
Two wheels move the soul!"

User avatar
Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:55 am
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

#527 Unread post by Nalian » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:11 am

blues2cruise wrote:I have a question about partitions.....someone suggested that it is better to have partitions so that all your work would not be lost in the event of a crash.....

Is this like having 2 hard drives in one?

Is this something that needs to be done by a pro..if it needs doing at all?
You can do it with partition magic, but you're better off having a 2nd harddrive or drive itself. In the cirucmstance that you have a system crash that is just the OS, the 2nd partition would keep your files still. However if you have a larger issue or the harddrive itself dies - 2nd partition is no good.

What kind of files are you keeping, blues? If they are large files like pictures and such, I'd definitely recommend getting a 2nd harddrive. If it's smaller things that would fit on something like a thumb drive, just get one of those. They can be pretty cheap these days!

User avatar
JC Viper
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2198
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:12 am
Real Name: JC
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 1984 Kawasaki GPz900R
Location: New York, NY

#528 Unread post by JC Viper » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:47 am

or a portable Hard Drive from the likes of Western Digital Passport or Seagate FreeAgent Go or regular if you don't need portability.

They can store tons for reasonable prices.
One thing you can count on: You push a man too far, and sooner or later he'll start pushing back.

Image

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#529 Unread post by blues2cruise » Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:58 pm

Thanks everyone. I have everythig saved onto an external hard drive.

The hard drive in my computer is quite new so I don't think it's an issue.

What I have saved are mostly word documents and photographs...but they are on the external drive..

I will consider partitioning when I decide I need a new computer.
Image

User avatar
JC Viper
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2198
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:12 am
Real Name: JC
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 1984 Kawasaki GPz900R
Location: New York, NY

#530 Unread post by JC Viper » Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:44 am

blues2cruise wrote:Thanks everyone. I have everythig saved onto an external hard drive.

The hard drive in my computer is quite new so I don't think it's an issue.

What I have saved are mostly word documents and photographs...but they are on the external drive..

I will consider partitioning when I decide I need a new computer.
no need for a new PC, you can partition anytime you want. Just pop in the Window's disk or a partitioning program. Just make sure you have enough disk space for the two.

See, I'm ana about my important stuff to the point where I have one external back up along with 3 hard drives in my PC for redundancy. I have several self made programs and videos and reports that I would like to keep and hard drives have a tendency to go bad at the most inopportune moments.
One thing you can count on: You push a man too far, and sooner or later he'll start pushing back.

Image

User avatar
Skier
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 2243
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 4:44 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Pullman, WA, USA
Contact:

#531 Unread post by Skier » Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:20 am

dr_bar wrote:No, I can't ping...
Can you ping the router? Can you open up the router's web interface with the machine?
[url=http://www.motoblag.com/blag/]Practicing the dark and forgotten art of using turn signals since '98.[/url]

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#532 Unread post by blues2cruise » Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:48 am

What does Ping mean?
Image

User avatar
csspostal
Site Supporter - Bronze
Site Supporter - Bronze
Posts: 599
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 11:07 pm
Real Name: Tom
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 0
My Motorcycle: 2012/Harley Davidson/ Iron 883 Ember Red
Location: Port Hope, Ontario
Contact:

#533 Unread post by csspostal » Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:53 am

blues2cruise wrote:What does Ping mean?
Ping measures the round trip time that it takes for a signal from one computer to another and back again.

The smaller amount of time to get a return on the signal the better your connection.

Think Radar and speed strap :(

User avatar
JC Viper
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2198
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:12 am
Real Name: JC
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 1984 Kawasaki GPz900R
Location: New York, NY

#534 Unread post by JC Viper » Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:32 am

csspostal wrote:
blues2cruise wrote:What does Ping mean?
Ping measures the round trip time that it takes for a signal from one computer to another and back again.

The smaller amount of time to get a return on the signal the better your connection.

Think Radar and speed strap :(

Or a submarine SONAR... or just tapping a metal bar to make it ping... =P
One thing you can count on: You push a man too far, and sooner or later he'll start pushing back.

Image

User avatar
jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:08 pm
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model
Contact:

#535 Unread post by jonnythan » Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:57 am

Pings are also a way to test connectivity to a device. While ping replies can be turned off or firewalled, getting a ping response over a network means that both sides are properly connected to the same network. Getting no ping response can be a result of a misconfigured system or network device (router, switch, etc).
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

fong47
Regular
Regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:46 am
Sex: Male
Location: NY

#536 Unread post by fong47 » Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:28 pm

IE is very slow and I rather use Mozilla Firefox 3.5 or you can try Google Chrome and I heard it's pretty good.

User avatar
dr_bar
Site Supporter - Diamond
Site Supporter - Diamond
Posts: 4531
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 10:37 am
Real Name: Doug
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 44
My Motorcycle: 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Venture
Location: Surrey BC, Canada

#537 Unread post by dr_bar » Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:35 pm

Well, I figured out what was wrong with this stupid piece of electronics...


I had loaded ZoneAlarm after I had my drive reformatted and I couldn't find my licence for the pro version. Having down loaded it as a trial version until I could find the licence, the damned thing expired on me and locked out the web. How stupid is that???
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Four wheels move the body.
Two wheels move the soul!"

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#538 Unread post by blues2cruise » Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:20 pm

I've been getting a box pop up that says something like...Normal was being used by....did I want to change the global somthing or other....

It happens when I try to close an email document or a word document.

This just started happening a couple of weeks ago.

what is it and why is it happening?
Image

User avatar
ofblong
Legendary 2500
Legendary 2500
Posts: 2638
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:51 am
Real Name: Ben
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 4
My Motorcycle: 1996 Honda Shadow Deluxe VLX
Location: Michigan
Contact:

#539 Unread post by ofblong » Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:13 pm

blues2cruise wrote:I've been getting a box pop up that says something like...Normal was being used by....did I want to change the global somthing or other....

It happens when I try to close an email document or a word document.

This just started happening a couple of weeks ago.

what is it and why is it happening?
need the exact "fault" to be able to give you proper advice.
96' Honda Shadow Deluxe VLX
Dream bike: Ducati Multistrada 1100S
[img]http://hdbits.org/pic/smilies/hdlove.gif[/img]

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#540 Unread post by blues2cruise » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:06 am

Ok, I took a few snapshots of the boxes that pop up...

Image

Image

Image

They appear in that order...sorry about the last one, I was a bit hasty and did not focus properly.

This just started a few weeks ago. I have no idea why or what it is.
The word program is also very slow.

Any clues?
Image

Post Reply