Computer questions and solutions....thereof...

Message
Author
User avatar
Johnj
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3806
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:34 pm
Real Name: Johnny Strabler
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 34
My Motorcycle: A Bolt of Lightning
Location: Kansas City KS

#21 Unread post by Johnj » Thu Jan 18, 2007 1:11 pm

I use Firefox for everything except Windows© Updates.

:frusty:
People say I'm stupid and apathetic. I don't know what that means, and I don't care.
Image
Always wear a helmet, eye protection, and protective clothing. Never ride under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

User avatar
Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:55 am
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

#22 Unread post by Nalian » Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:20 pm

Avoid the weather extension for firefox - it'll slow it down majorly and cause it to crash or eat up memory for no reason.

User avatar
Sev
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold
Posts: 7352
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:52 am
Sex: Male
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Contact:

#23 Unread post by Sev » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:06 pm

Nalian wrote:Avoid the weather extension for firefox - it'll slow it down majorly and cause it to crash or eat up memory for no reason.
It seems to be running faster for me now that I've got the weather extension installed. LoL. However said extension will obviously eat up bandwidth and processing power just by being there. I like it though.
Of course I'm generalizing from a single example here, but everyone does that. At least I do.

[url=http://sirac-sev.blogspot.com/][img]http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a227/Sevulturus/sig.jpg[/img][/url]

User avatar
jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:08 pm
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model
Contact:

#24 Unread post by jonnythan » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:14 pm

Every extension you load will use up some memory and slow down the starting of Firefox, so I use as few as possible. One or two extra small ones may not be noticeable, but it does become so when you have upwards of 5-10 extensions installed, or if you have a small number of resource-intensive ones.

I also use Fasterfox. It noticeably speeds up the loading of many web pages.

Fasterfox and Adblock are the only ones I use. ScriptMonkey is also very nice, but most usable to more advanced users.
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

User avatar
Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:55 am
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

#25 Unread post by Nalian » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:19 pm

Sevulturus wrote:
Nalian wrote:Avoid the weather extension for firefox - it'll slow it down majorly and cause it to crash or eat up memory for no reason.
It seems to be running faster for me now that I've got the weather extension installed. LoL. However said extension will obviously eat up bandwidth and processing power just by being there. I like it though.
Leave it running overnight. I would have to kill firefox in the morning because it would go from eating 60 or so megs of memory to 260. It was nuts.

Admittedly, like in all software testing to say conclusively I'd have to install it on more systems and such. But I definitely have better results with firefox after getting rid of it. :)

User avatar
Sev
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold
Posts: 7352
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:52 am
Sex: Male
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Contact:

#26 Unread post by Sev » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:30 pm

I'm a big fan of grease monkey myself, it allows on the fly user side editing of any webpage that you view. Very cool.

As for weather network... I've had it installed for maybe 12 hours now. I've yet to notice any slow down, even while playing high demand online games with it running in the background. I might just have a newer version of the addon then the one you tested, or it may have interacted funny with one of your hardware components (I play WoW and the last patch 1/4ed my frame rate because I had a creative card. Remove the card and frame rate goes back... newest patch fixed this). Who knows? Computers are so messed up.
Of course I'm generalizing from a single example here, but everyone does that. At least I do.

[url=http://sirac-sev.blogspot.com/][img]http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a227/Sevulturus/sig.jpg[/img][/url]

User avatar
Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:55 am
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

#27 Unread post by Nalian » Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:46 pm

Nope - same version has been out since September. I didn't start having problems right away, but more just a week or so ago (firefox was installed on a fresh OS about 3/4 weeks ago). It's possible that it didn't like being installed with the other extensions I was running - but like I said I didn't notice issues right away. I started noticing all kinds of problems with firefox (such as it wouldn't let me click on my tabs, but I could ctrl-alt to them) and was getting pretty frustrated til I uninstalled just forecastfox. Since then..no problems.

As always with computers, YMMV.

User avatar
jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:08 pm
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model
Contact:

#28 Unread post by jonnythan » Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:23 pm

Firefox is designed to slowly eat up a significant chunk of memory. This is not a memory leak. It stores a large portion of the pages you visit in RAM instead of in its cache.

You can turn this off if you want. There's no reason to "kill" Firefox periodically.

If you want to do this, type about:config in the address bar and hit enter. Right click and select New -> Boolean. Name the value config.trim_on_minimize and select True. Restart Firefox.

There. Minimal memory usage.
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

User avatar
Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:55 am
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

#29 Unread post by Nalian » Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:10 pm

If you're commenting in my direction, jonnythan, the memory leak I was experiencing was due to forecast fox. That has been the only thing that changed, and since then it hasn't happened again. No that's not a 'conclusive' test, but I'm not willing to put it back on my system and run tests for something I don't care that much about. ;) Again..we're talking 200 megs in the course of 12-20 or so hours while no one was using the machine. No new pages, etc.

User avatar
jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:08 pm
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model
Contact:

#30 Unread post by jonnythan » Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:26 pm

Nalian wrote:If you're commenting in my direction, jonnythan, the memory leak I was experiencing was due to forecast fox.
I realized that after I posted, but thought I'd leave the comment up because Firefox *does* indeed use hundreds of megabytes of memory over time. Lots of people think that this is some sort of memory leakage bug with Firefox, but it's actually intentional.. so I thought I'd leave the "fix" up for those interested.
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

User avatar
t_bonee
Site Supporter - Bronze
Site Supporter - Bronze
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:17 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

#31 Unread post by t_bonee » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:37 pm

Nalian wrote:Nope - same version has been out since September. I didn't start having problems right away, but more just a week or so ago (firefox was installed on a fresh OS about 3/4 weeks ago). It's possible that it didn't like being installed with the other extensions I was running - but like I said I didn't notice issues right away. I started noticing all kinds of problems with firefox (such as it wouldn't let me click on my tabs, but I could ctrl-alt to them) and was getting pretty frustrated til I uninstalled just forecastfox. Since then..no problems.

As always with computers, YMMV.
Ya. That's weird. I've been using forecastfox for a long time and never had nary a problem with it. Gotta love 'puters.
A dog had his chain reduced one link at a time, every few days, until his chain was so short he could barely move. He never resisted because he was conditioned to the loss of his freedom slowly, over time. Are we in this country becoming like the dog?

User avatar
t_bonee
Site Supporter - Bronze
Site Supporter - Bronze
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:17 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

#32 Unread post by t_bonee » Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:45 pm

A cool new feature in Firefox 2 is you can config links that would normally open a new browser window to open in a new tab instead. . And a cool extension is the Tiny URL creator. It allows you to create a Tiny URL link by right clicking it. And another is Unplug which scans a webstie that has embedded audio and/or video and then provides a link so you can download the song or video.
A dog had his chain reduced one link at a time, every few days, until his chain was so short he could barely move. He never resisted because he was conditioned to the loss of his freedom slowly, over time. Are we in this country becoming like the dog?

User avatar
JC Viper
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2198
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:12 am
Real Name: JC
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 1984 Kawasaki GPz900R
Location: New York, NY

#33 Unread post by JC Viper » Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:33 pm

For Firefox type about:config into the address bar and go to Browser.tabs.closeButtons and enter

0 (for the close button to appear only on the active tab)
1 (for all tabs to have a close button)
3 (no close buttons)

Not very useful tip but hey it can come in handy.
Beware that Firefox 1.5 and 2 start taking up a lot of memory after use so you may want to close all windows from time to time. I think this is where IE7 has done right.
One thing you can count on: You push a man too far, and sooner or later he'll start pushing back.

Image

User avatar
Shiv
Site Supporter - Silver
Site Supporter - Silver
Posts: 1281
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:19 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Texas

#34 Unread post by Shiv » Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:37 am

Mmm get a Mouse Gestures extension too. So freaking useful. Can open new tabs, refresh page, go forward/backward, close pages, open new ones, duplicate the page you're on, etc and so forth all with the mouse.
Have fun on the open /¦\


There's more to this site than just the message board.
www.totalmotorcycle.com

I know, I was surprised too.

roscowgo
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:30 pm

#35 Unread post by roscowgo » Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:25 am

I'm one of the foxy crew too.


Did find a plugin that actually opened IE tabs under firefox at one point, and was customizable in which sites you wanted that to happen with, but it was a bit twitchy. so i scrapped it :D


/agrees with any it guy that reccomends ie7...its kind of like reccomending syphilis with a wonderful sidedose of strep throat.

User avatar
Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:55 am
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

#36 Unread post by Nalian » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:53 am

jonnythan wrote:
Nalian wrote:If you're commenting in my direction, jonnythan, the memory leak I was experiencing was due to forecast fox.
I realized that after I posted, but thought I'd leave the comment up because Firefox *does* indeed use hundreds of megabytes of memory over time. Lots of people think that this is some sort of memory leakage bug with Firefox, but it's actually intentional.. so I thought I'd leave the "fix" up for those interested.
Makes sense! Hopefully the guy up above will see it. ;)

User avatar
Christina
Regular
Regular
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:59 pm
Sex: Male

#37 Unread post by Christina » Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:21 pm

YEP - good ole' IE 7 - it's a bomb totally! Bad bomb that is. I work on computers all day long and to this day i've not heard one good reason to accept the new IE 7 Upgrade. I guess we will have to wait for whatever they throw at us next.............FireFox is a great alternative..........never hear anything bad about it.
Christina
Don't make me wait for my ride!!
www.signalsorcerer.com

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10005
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: Rocky Mountain Bicycle
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#38 Unread post by blues2cruise » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:14 pm

jonnythan wrote:Firefox is designed to slowly eat up a significant chunk of memory. This is not a memory leak. It stores a large portion of the pages you visit in RAM instead of in its cache.

You can turn this off if you want. There's no reason to "kill" Firefox periodically.

If you want to do this, type about:config in the address bar and hit enter. Right click and select New -> Boolean. Name the value config.trim_on_minimize and select True. Restart Firefox.

There. Minimal memory usage.
Is this common knowledge? Why would they design something to eat up your memory space? If someone happens to have a small memory computer, and they run out of memory, is there an obvious fix for them?

They won't have you there to let them know why they ran out of memory.


I'm finding some pages are still extremely slow to load...if at all. I have to click a few times or close it and try again. It's better than IE7 though.

User avatar
jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:08 pm
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model
Contact:

#39 Unread post by jonnythan » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:36 pm

blues2cruise wrote:
jonnythan wrote:Firefox is designed to slowly eat up a significant chunk of memory. This is not a memory leak. It stores a large portion of the pages you visit in RAM instead of in its cache.

You can turn this off if you want. There's no reason to "kill" Firefox periodically.

If you want to do this, type about:config in the address bar and hit enter. Right click and select New -> Boolean. Name the value config.trim_on_minimize and select True. Restart Firefox.

There. Minimal memory usage.
Is this common knowledge? Why would they design something to eat up your memory space? If someone happens to have a small memory computer, and they run out of memory, is there an obvious fix for them?

They won't have you there to let them know why they ran out of memory.


I'm finding some pages are still extremely slow to load...if at all. I have to click a few times or close it and try again. It's better than IE7 though.
It's common knowledge in the tech community.

It doesn't actually seem to be an issue for most people. People who go in and look at the current memory footprint of their browser get all freaked out when they see a 3-digit number there, but in the Real World it doesn't affect much at all. Firefox works just fine on computers with minimal RAM. It tends to slowly absorb available memory in order to make the browsing a little faster, that's all.
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

User avatar
t_bonee
Site Supporter - Bronze
Site Supporter - Bronze
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:17 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

#40 Unread post by t_bonee » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:50 pm

blues2cruise wrote:
*snippage*

I'm finding some pages are still extremely slow to load...if at all. I have to click a few times or close it and try again. It's better than IE7 though.
Maybe try an online virus scan and spyware scan. Sounds like something may be eating your bandwidth. Lots of times a virus or nasty hunk of spyware will disable your protection software but make it seem like it is still working A-ok. An online virus/spyware scan may pickup something your installed software is missing.

I assume you have broadband and should be getting way faster down speeds. .
A dog had his chain reduced one link at a time, every few days, until his chain was so short he could barely move. He never resisted because he was conditioned to the loss of his freedom slowly, over time. Are we in this country becoming like the dog?

Post Reply