Computer questions and solutions....thereof...

Message
Author
blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#41 Unread post by blues2cruise » Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:41 pm

t_bonee wrote:
blues2cruise wrote:
*snippage*

I'm finding some pages are still extremely slow to load...if at all. I have to click a few times or close it and try again. It's better than IE7 though.
Maybe try an online virus scan and spyware scan. Sounds like something may be eating your bandwidth. Lots of times a virus or nasty hunk of spyware will disable your protection software but make it seem like it is still working A-ok. An online virus/spyware scan may pickup something your installed software is missing.

I assume you have broadband and should be getting way faster down speeds. .
Yes, I have a high speed connection. Thanks for the suggestion. I will look into it.

roscowgo
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:30 pm

#42 Unread post by roscowgo » Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:36 am

<<would personally suggest spybot from safer-networking.org, it should update during the first run wizard.
and avg's free scanner. free.grisoft.com and of course its updates too.


ad-aware and spybot might interact a tad. if i remember right, ad-aware actually keeps a copy of the offending spyware for some reason.

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#43 Unread post by blues2cruise » Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:07 pm

roscowgo wrote:<<would personally suggest spybot from safer-networking.org, it should update during the first run wizard.
and avg's free scanner. free.grisoft.com and of course its updates too.


ad-aware and spybot might interact a tad. if i remember right, ad-aware actually keeps a copy of the offending spyware for some reason.
Thanks roscowgo. I ran a scan from Spyware doctor but I had to purchase to remove anything. I am unwilling to use my credit card for a company I don't know.

I think what you said about Ad-Aware keeping things is true. It only quarantines things. That is probably why the one I tried last night said I had so many on here.

Thanks for the reminder about spybot search and destroy. I used to have it on my old computer. I can always get rid of Ad-Aware easily enough if spybot doesn't like it.

Do you think AVG will find anything that the Norton doesn't find? The Norton seems to be working quite well.

User avatar
Sev
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold
Posts: 7352
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:52 am
Sex: Male
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Contact:

#44 Unread post by Sev » Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:49 pm

download spybot search and destroy.

It does two things
1) removes all the spyware it can find (for free)
2) creates a junk file (.txt) in the place where spyware would normally put itself in the same name. Meaning spyware cannot install itself.

GLEE.
Of course I'm generalizing from a single example here, but everyone does that. At least I do.

[url=http://sirac-sev.blogspot.com/][img]http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a227/Sevulturus/sig.jpg[/img][/url]

roscowgo
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:30 pm

#45 Unread post by roscowgo » Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:03 pm

Welcome. I've got about 200 users. All of which have net access. Spybot is one of the few things that keeps me from putting a deny all all eq 80 statement in my router.

Avg works well for me. The free version wont let you schedule When you want it to run. Which aggravates me something fierce. But i've ran into very few cases where it didnt find and kill what i wanted it to. I usually use it as an as-needed emergency scanner, then scrap it once the offending bug is gone.

I'm pretty leery of anti virus programs in general. They seem to like infecting systems with their protection. And i've ran into a few occasions where they're actually more destructive than the bugs in the first case.

A few tips to help you out in the future too.
1. Create a basic rights profile. Run as many programs as you can from that. The more steps bad software has to go through to infect you the better in my opinion.
2. Stay away from most any web app that looks cute or amusing etc... Bonzibuddy springs to mind. Smiley central, i know kazaa used to be LOADED with spyware. I am suspect of lots of flash games.
3. Email should be pretty standard, don't open emails from folks you dont know/werent expecting. careful with the attachments etc
4. Slow way down and look/think about what you click on the web. You're probably pretty safe on cnn.com it's when you find yourself linked to eb4y.com that you can start getting in trouble. Firefox will help you with the browsing problems. It doesnt seem nearly as vulnerable to most of the bugs.

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#46 Unread post by blues2cruise » Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:33 pm

Hey, roscowgo, thanks. I'm usually quite careful about where I go on the internet.
However, I did get linked to ebay a few times unknowingly.

I'll copy and paste what you wrote so I can remember and go back to refer later.
Thanks.

roscowgo
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:30 pm

#47 Unread post by roscowgo » Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:16 am

well not ebay in particular. I mean you can get spoofed links. Spam emails are good for that. The link might say www.ebay.com and take you to Donkey shows r' us or something.

Oh and duh. im such a taterhead. did the scans help out with your slow loading problems?

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#48 Unread post by blues2cruise » Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:25 am

roscowgo wrote:well not ebay in particular. I mean you can get spoofed links. Spam emails are good for that. The link might say www.ebay.com and take you to Donkey shows r' us or something.

Oh and duh. im such a taterhead. did the scans help out with your slow loading problems?
Not particularly. For example, I made a post in the Delaware/Texas thread. The submit button would not "submit", so I clicked again. and again and again.......
After several clicks it finally responded, but then I ended up with about 8 posts. :laughing:

I have been using Yahoo mail for a long time as an email address for forums. It's been good. But now sometimes it won't load and I have to cloes the link and try again. Then when the page does start to load, it takes forever for it to open up.

I'm still working in it. I just haven't been at the computer much in the last couple of days. I probably will have to wait until Sunday night or early next week now to put any time into the problem since I won't be home much.

(I have been inadvertently redirected (in the past on my old computer) to a few of those places you mentioned and they are sites I have no interest in. )

Camera club tonight, snowshoe excursion Friday up a local mountain Friday night, and The Vancouver Mototcycle Show on Saturday. I hope there are some show specials on tires.

Oh, and.....I don't know what you mean by creating a basic rights profile. I ran a broadband speed test. It said my connection was "mediocre". Well, I'm not paying for mediocre, so maybe the problem is my provider. I will check with them also.

In the meantime, it will be shut off because I have to leave for work and I won't have time to play later.

roscowgo
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:30 pm

#49 Unread post by roscowgo » Fri Jan 26, 2007 5:59 am

The basic rights profile is just another windows user added on that doesnt have administrative rights. can't install programs on it, can't see alot of the property pages.... things like that. it just adds an extra layer of complexity to your set up, so that the automated bugs that take advantage of whatever flaw they use to get in, have a harder time getting a toe in the door.



doesnt make you safe entirely by any means though. Good luck blues. troubleshooting a computer across a forum is always an adventure. :D

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#50 Unread post by blues2cruise » Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:26 pm

I finally got a response to my email to my ISP. They told me to try a bunch of stuff....which I aready had....

Finally a friend came over to have a look. He did an online speed test for the uploading and downloading.
The downloading was extremely low. So, he called the ISP and talked to a tech.
It turned out that the slow loading problem was not my computer, or malware, or spyware. There was a problem in the line somewhere. There has been a problem in thier line for a while.

So, while the loading of some pages is definitely better, there are still a few that are slow.
One of them is yahoo mail. For crying out loud, if they would get rid of that stupid animated guy running away from the stupid animated ostrich it might help.

After Firefox, other things started happening, so I uninstalled it and am back to IE 6 for now.

Now I have to find out why a window opens up to ask me what program I want to use to acces the internet. :roll: ...every time...... :roll:

Ya know that old saying,"If things aren't broke, don't fix it?"
Well, I never had any problems with IE6...I should never have paid attention to folks who were insisting IE7 was so great.

Talk about frustrating.......I think I'd like to go two-stepping.....and have some fun. :wink:

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#51 Unread post by blues2cruise » Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:07 am

:kicking: :woohoo:

I finally got my computer working properly. I did a little looking around and found the place for me to reset some things.

I find a couple of sites still load a bit slow, (like TMW for example) but my surfing is so much better now.

Thanks again for helping me to trouble shoot.

roscowgo
Legendary 750
Legendary 750
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:30 pm

#52 Unread post by roscowgo » Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:59 am

Glad you got it fixed. Glad you werent infected too :D

sorry we were so far off in the troubleshooting dept.

Line problems are a pain in the butt, i had comcast for a couple of years, for the last 6 months of my service i couldnt have my tv and modem online at the same time. Signal was too weak. I eventually got someone to admit that the line from the pole to my house was full of water. They wanted to charge me to replace it.


Only option i had though..... theyll never get my business again.

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#53 Unread post by blues2cruise » Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:00 am

I still have internet problems. I was talking to a co-worker who is fairly well versed in computer stuff....or so he would lead me to believe...he sure does enough stuff with it.

Anyway, he suggested that there may a bot implanted by a hacker who is using my bandwith which is why my connection is so slow.
He suggested I may have to reformat my computer.

Is this something I can do, or do I have to call in a techie?

I have run Ad-Aware, Spybot S&D, Norton, a registry cleaner and there is a firewall.
I cleared out the cache and ran a defrag.

I don't know what else I can do.

When my friend was here and ran a speed test, it showed my download speed was only 10%, so we contacted the ISP and they said there had been a problem with the line. They claimed to have fixed it.

I don't recall the site that had the speed test to see the download times.

I'm going to see if telus will let me out of my contract because they obviously aren't holding up their end of it.

This is slower than dial up. :roll:

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#54 Unread post by blues2cruise » Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:14 am

How long should it take for an email message of 11.8mb to download into my mailbox?

User avatar
ofblong
Legendary 2500
Legendary 2500
Posts: 2638
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:51 am
Real Name: Ben
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 4
My Motorcycle: 1996 Honda Shadow Deluxe VLX
Location: Michigan

#55 Unread post by ofblong » Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:19 am

uhh if you already talked to tech support and they admited to a problem on their end with the speeds of your internet you dont have a bot on your computer and with adware/spyware/anti virus you would find it anyways. However formatting is easy to do there is lots of tutorials on the web on how to do that. www.google.com is your friend.

Firefox is awesome because of tabbed browsing but I have ie7 for the rare and I do mean rare occasion firefox cant open/handle a website properly.
96' Honda Shadow Deluxe VLX
Dream bike: Ducati Multistrada 1100S
[img]http://hdbits.org/pic/smilies/hdlove.gif[/img]

User avatar
CNF2002
Site Supporter - Silver
Site Supporter - Silver
Posts: 2553
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 7:56 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Texas

#56 Unread post by CNF2002 » Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:15 am

Also look for the Internet Explorer plug-in for Firefox. It puts a button on the bottom of your browser that allows you to switch to an emulated IE mode to run web applications that will not work in fox.

Every once and a while I find a page that the designer seemed to only test in IE! moviephone.com will only run its movies in IE (probably in bed with MS) and nothing on Microsoft's site will work in fox because forcing you to use their proprietary software is a staple of the Microsoft business model.
2002 Buell Blast 500 /¦\
[url=http://www.putfile.com][img]http://x10.putfile.com/3/8221543225.gif[/img][/url]
[url=http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/BBS/viewtopic.php?t=11790]Confessions of a Commuter[/url]

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#57 Unread post by blues2cruise » Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:50 am

Thanks you two.

Has anyone used Opera? I was reading somewhere and folks were talking about it.

User avatar
jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:08 pm
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model
Contact:

#58 Unread post by jonnythan » Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:17 am

blues2cruise wrote:Thanks you two.

Has anyone used Opera? I was reading somewhere and folks were talking about it.
Opera is pretty good.

I'm not sure what's causing your slowdown. I don't suspect spyware or bots if Ad-Aware and such aren't finding anything. A bot sits quietly until instructed to do something, they don't suck down massive bandwidth. They don't really download things, especially not over a long period of time. Spyware doesn't either.

I'd be hesitant about saying Telus is at fault at this point, though.

My first guess is that there is another computer using your connection and you may not realize it. If you have a router, which I hope you do, you could very well have a wireless router that comes "open" by default and a neighbor is "piggybacking" on your connection and using it to download things (movies, music, pirated software, etc).
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

blues2cruise
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10028
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:28 pm
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Contact:

#59 Unread post by blues2cruise » Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:23 am

jonnythan wrote:
blues2cruise wrote:Thanks you two.

Has anyone used Opera? I was reading somewhere and folks were talking about it.
Opera is pretty good.

I'm not sure what's causing your slowdown. I don't suspect spyware or bots if Ad-Aware and such aren't finding anything. A bot sits quietly until instructed to do something, they don't suck down massive bandwidth. They don't really download things, especially not over a long period of time. Spyware doesn't either.

I'd be hesitant about saying Telus is at fault at this point, though.

My first guess is that there is another computer using your connection and you may not realize it. If you have a router, which I hope you do, you could very well have a wireless router that comes "open" by default and a neighbor is "piggybacking" on your connection and using it to download things (movies, music, pirated software, etc).
Hmmmm, I will have to look into that. Thanks for the suggestion.

User avatar
Nibblet99
Site Supporter - Diamond
Site Supporter - Diamond
Posts: 2097
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:46 pm
Sex: Male
Location: Back in Reading again
Contact:

#60 Unread post by Nibblet99 » Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:23 pm

Before you even consider formatting, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ALL THE SOFTWARE DISKS & LICENSE NUMBERS / CD KEYS to put back on it, afterwards.

Also I use SpyBot and love it, but Spybot maker himself also recommends you get another free program called Spyware Blaster. having both installed for about 2 years now, I have not had 1 single problem crop up.

Only difference with spyware blaster is you have to manually click the update button (about 3 mouse clicks), OR you have to make a donation if you want the software to automatically keep itself up to date
Starting out responsibly? - [url=http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/BBS/viewtopic.php?t=24730]Clicky[/url]
looking for a forum that advocates race replica, 600cc supersports for learners on public roads? - [url=http://www.google.com]Clicky[/url]

Post Reply