flynrider
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 30
My Motorcycle: '93 Honda Nighthawk 750

Thread repair advice

#1 Unread post by flynrider »

After 25K miles I finally decided to change the plugs on my Nighthawk. I was getting an occasional miss and the plugs had never been replaced since new, so I figured it was time. When I went to remove the number 3 plug I couldn't get the socket to seat. Eventually I found that a bent penny had been wedged between the plug base and the head. Not a good sign. Sure enough, when I extracted the penny and started removing the plug, it did not come out easy. It had obviously been crossthreaded.

Just for grins I tried installing a new plug, but gave up quickly. It got hard to turn and I didn't want to screw it up any worse than it was. It's now leaking compression past the threads and is going to need a repair.

I've been wrenching on my bikes for 30 yrs. and have never had to deal with damaged plug threads, so I'm hoping to tap your experience. Have you used an insert on plug threads (Time-sert, Helicoil)? If so, what did you use and how did it work? I'm trying to avoid head removal and a trip to the machine shop.
Bikin' John
'93 Honda CB750 Nighthawk

jaskc78
Site Supporter - Platinum
Years Riding: 6
My Motorcycle: N/A

Re: Thread repair advice

#2 Unread post by jaskc78 »

Ouch. I don't have any helpful advice, but good luck on it and let us know how it turns out either way.
"Dude, women are like Vol-Tron. The more you can hook up the better it gets!" --RvB
Currently waiting on a new hip before I can get a new bike.

BuzZz
Years Riding: 47
My Motorcycle: makes my 'nads tingle

#3 Unread post by BuzZz »