Honda CB650 brake light problems

graymojocat
Regular
Regular
Sex: Male

Honda CB650 brake light problems

#1 Unread post by graymojocat »

First, I am new to the biking thing. The bike we got is old and sat for a while and just needed a little TLC. I'm less than pleased with the shop we took it to. We told them it was sitting for a while and needed some love and a tune up. They didn't test the battery at all (which benefitted us because it's cheaper for us to replace it than let them do it), but we discovered the brake lights don't work either. (:sarcasm: great tune up guys. We bring you a bike that we tell you needs some love and a tune up and you don't even bother to test the battery or the lights. i'm impressed).
anyway. husband tested the voltage and it seems that it's not quite right. or as he put it "it's all over the place." Sorry I can't give you more.

But, since we know it's more than just the light bulbs, can anyone recommend what exactly he should check for fixing the problem?

He's all ready to go and just start working on it, but I really would prefer to have an idea or a plan of attack suggested by someone who knows about these things.

He is really handy and I don't think he'll mess up the bike or anything. His first car was one that he built.

Thanks for the help

Also, can someone suggest a good maintenance/repair manual? I know there are a bunch out there, but I don't want to randomly just pick one up and hope it's good.
Beginning rider, mother of two.

mgdavis
Legendary 750
Legendary 750

#2 Unread post by mgdavis »

It sounds like it might be a bad ground? That can cause some interesting electrical symptoms. Were it me, I'd unplug and clean all the connections, hopefully that cures the problem.

IIRC, I had a Clymer's for my CB750. It seemed a decent shop manual.
'07 Suzuki V-Strom DL650
An armed man is a citizen, an unarmed man is a subject.
Molon Labe!!!

Sev
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold

#3 Unread post by Sev »