Should I Trade?

roncg41677
Elite
Elite
Sex: Male

Should I Trade?

#1 Unread post by roncg41677 »

I've been riding my 02 GZ250 for about 4-6 months. I've barely put 400 miles on it. I love the bike, and am not disappointed in it. In fact, I've put a bit of work into it to get it running, and it runs great now.

I was approached about a bike that an older gentleman wants to sell. He's been taking care of it for his son who is out of the country. Turns out his son will be staying, and now he is selling the bike. It's a 600cc Yamaha Seca 2, maybe a 92 or something. Red, in very nice condition for its age. It needs a little work; the choke is stuck closed and there is a ticking sound from the back wheel. He only wants $400-500 for it.

I figure I could easily get $1300-1500 for mine, which would leave me enough to buy the bike, pay to have it fixed, and maybe even have some money left over for some gear or needed items for the house. I'm kind of indifferent otherwise (although I wouldn't mind a little extra power for when I ride the highway). I'd be perfectly happy continuing to ride my GZ, but I'm wondering if this is too good a deal to pass up?
[i]Matthew 6:33 - But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.[/i]
'93 Yamaha Seca II
'92 Yamaha Seca II (Fixing up)

Gunslinger
Legendary 300
Legendary 300
Years Riding: 3
My Motorcycle: 2006/Suzuki/SV650

#2 Unread post by Gunslinger »

For that price he's practically giving it away. I say come up with the money and keep both bikes. Either way I'd be all over that deal. You didn't say what the mileage was on the Seca but as long as it's not excessive go for it.

JC Viper
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 1984 Kawasaki GPz900R

#3 Unread post by JC Viper »

I traded in my GZ250 after a few thousand miles and I moved up to a Vulcan 500 and it was really refreshing to have a really smooth bike that is much faster than the GZ.