Whether you’re a Michigan motorcyclist or just riding through the state it’s important to know the specifics on the new Michigan Helmet Law passed in April.
The new law lessens helmet restrictions allowing motorcycle operators to ride without a helmet provided they meet the following criteria:
• 21 years of age or older, AND
• Have at least $20,000 of first-party medical benefits insurance coverage, AND
• Either have had a motorcycle endorsement for more than two years OR earn a motorcycle endorsement by passing an accredited or certified motorcycle safety course.
A passenger on a motorcycle may ride helmet-less under the new law if:
• The passenger is at least 21 years of age, AND
• Covered for at least $20,000 of first-party medical insurance benefits (either by the operator’s cycle insurance or their own).
So, if you were to ride with a passenger, you may need an additional $20,000 of this medical coverage in addition to the $20,000 you require as the operator.
For more information on Michigan’s helmet law visit: http://www.motorcyclelawyermichigan.com/86.html