What basic gear to buy for MSF class?

newguy45
Rookie
Rookie

What basic gear to buy for MSF class?

#1 Unread post by newguy45 »

Hello....

I'm new to everything and I'm kind of intimidated because I know pretty much nothing about motorcycles. But I got my permit and signed up for the MSF class, which is next week. Anyway, I'm supposed to bring my own:

1. DOT approved helmet
2. Eye protection
3. Full-fingered gloves
4. Boots that cover the ankle

none of which I have. Does anyone have recommendations about what to buy? Really as cheap as possible is best. I plan on upgrading equipment later once I have better cash-flow, so I'm definitely not looking for premium stuff.

Thanks for all help you can provide because I'm completely clueless....

dieziege
Legendary 1000
Legendary 1000

#2 Unread post by dieziege »

If you really need to go cheap, walmart can supply.

Boots are $35. Gloves... get some leather/deerskin work gloves for another $10-20. Full faced helmet covers helmet and eye protection. You really should get the best you can afford. If you really are broke, Walmart sells Bell DOT approved full-face helmets for $70 or so.

My advice... don't do that. Start at a motorcycle shop with a good helmet selection and find a few that really fit. Then try on the Walmart and other cheap helmets if you want... but buy the best fitting helmet you can afford. If the choice is between an uncomfortable helmet for $70 and a comfortable one for $200, you'll be a lot better off with the comfortable one even if it means skimping on other stuff for a while.

Honestly, I think the "cheap" motorcycle boots suck. For $70 you get something that may not be any better than a $35 work boot. If you go for the motorcycle boots, get decent ones.