MAKER
Elite
Elite
Sex: Male

New Starter Bike/Dropping It

#1 Unread post by MAKER »

New here. :D

Nice place.

So, I'm just starting out, passes the BRC, got my license, need a bike. I will probably be getting one in the next month or two.

My question is I here alot about not getting a new bike as a starter because you will "drop" it. Do you just mean balance wise? Or crashing the thing? I'm 6', 255. I'm looking at some cruisers (honda aero 750/yamaha vstar 650/suzuki C50). I think i can handle the weight. I need something a little chunkier because I am a big guy. Am I likely to actually drop these? I mean, I passed my BRC doing slow speed uturns, etc...

Would it be stupid to get a new one? Any ideas?

Thanks!
And thanks again, because I'm sure this type of question is repetitive. :lol:

DivideOverflow
Legendary 1000
Legendary 1000

#2 Unread post by DivideOverflow »

You are just "more likely" to drop a bike as a new rider... either drop or crash. Statistically, a good deal of riders drop their bike in some way in the first 6 months of riding.

Many people don't though, me being one of them. If you have sense enough to practice in a parking lot a bunch, and are really careful not to make any dumb mistakes, you have a good chance of being alright. A lot of the "drops" are stupid things like not putting down the side stand, losing balance in the driveway, etc.

If you are attentive and careful (and not clumsy), you can probably avoid dropping your bike.

As for a crash... I would be more worried about the condition of the person than the bike.

EDIT:

I would probably still get a used bike if I were you. It saves you a bunch of money, and you will probably want to move up within a year of having your first bike. So I recommend trying to find one of those bikes you listed used, as they will be a lot cheaper, and save you the depreciation hit.

At your size, you would be fine on any of those bikes you listed.
2008 BMW K1200S
2003 Z1000 - For Sale