Am I too ripe for the kill?

willw
Regular
Regular
Sex: Male

Am I too ripe for the kill?

#1 Unread post by willw »

So, I walk into the local Yamaha dealership yesterday. I've got "newbie" stamped and twinkling all over me (my basic riders course is scheduled for June 22nd) but I'm just looking to get my bike fix that moment, since it is a warm (for a change) day in Vermont. I'm not seriously looking to sign any paperwork that morning. I'm upfront with them about that.

I've been in that dealership a few times over the last few months and the guys there already know I'm a newbie, but seriously looking for my first bike. They know I'm trying to nail down the perfect first bike, but not wanting to outgrow it too soon, either.

I know it has been a very bad sales season for dealerships in my area and they are hot to sell inventory. All motorized inventory, not just bikes (quads, snowmobiles, etc...not necessarily a weather related problem, but I digress...). I understand this.

I and the dealership guys also understand the Vstar 1100 seems to physically fit me like a glove. Feels great and they always see me gravitating to that bike.

They also know that there is an '06 they have that (I think) is priced just right.

I'm ripe for the kill.

They see me hesitate because I remind them that I am a newbie and would like to live to buy my second bike someday. I bring this up to them.

They tell me that the Vstar 1100 is okay for a first bike because, according to them, while it has power when I need it, the torque is mild enough for a beginner riding conservatively.

So, Is that true, or are they just trying to close the deal on the newbie. What they don't know is that I'm also considering the Vulcan 900 Custom, although I'm keeping all options open.

Is the Vstar1100 such a no-no for me that I should stay clear of that dealership for good? Unfortunately, the only other dealership in the area seems to use inexperienced sales people and I'm suspect of their advice, too.