Beginner not taking MSF

duster
Rookie
Rookie

Beginner not taking MSF

#1 Unread post by duster »

Hey Guys,

I am a beginner, I am not going to take the MSF class. The reason being is they're all booked through July. I have read how many of you recommend the MSF class and I have read the statistics (hurt report). I might take it at a later time.

My question is what books, and riding excercises you do you recommend for me to practice on my own? Maybe some excercises they used at the MSF class?

I have already read the beginner guide on this site. I have ridden a scooter, rode many bicycles and know how to drive a manual car. I understand how the clutch works. I am going to be learning on a 200 cc motorcycle.

jonnythan
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model

Re: Beginner not taking MSF

#2 Unread post by jonnythan »

duster wrote:Hey Guys,

I am a beginner, I am not going to take the MSF class. The reason being is they're all booked through July. I have read how many of you recommend the MSF class and I have read the statistics (hurt report). I might take it at a later time.

My question is what books, and riding excercises you do you recommend for me to practice on my own? Maybe some excercises they used at the MSF class?

I have already read the beginner guide on this site. I have ridden a scooter, rode many bicycles and know how to drive a manual car. I understand how the clutch works. I am going to be learning on a 200 cc motorcycle.
I recommend that you wait.

Call the night before every class to see if there are any cancellations. Find a class in another city or state that you can make it to.

At the absolute 100% very least, pick up a copy of Proficient Motorcycling and read it cover to cover three times before attempting to ride, and remember two things:

1) A handful of clutch is better than a handful of brake.
2) Don't decelerate or brake in a corner.
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnythan/sets/]Flickr.[/url]

flw