You guys are rough on newbies

jjp735i
Rookie
Rookie

You guys are rough on newbies

#1 Unread post by jjp735i »

I know all the experience riders are just looking out for us, but sometimes the replies just seem rude.

I am a newbie, have my MSP course scheduled for Sept. I plan on getting a vstar classic over the winter months. I see alot of riders on here beleive a 650 might be to big for a beginner, but I know quit a few experience riders say if I get a smaller bike, that I will sure what to upgrade in a year. I don't want the hassle of buying and selling a bike in a year. I ride a Yamaha 750 virago now. I'm very carefull and only ride in the park and around my house.

I understand alot of riders are just trying to look out the newbie, but not all of us have the means to buy and sell. Most older used bikes you need cash to buy and alot of us would rather buy new. Buying a used bike is just like buying a used car. No matter how well it's gone over, you never can tell what's it's been through. I guess I'm also lucky, I have many 20 plus years experience riders helping me along.

Just my thoughts. jjp

Fast Eddy B
Legendary 500
Legendary 500
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 12
My Motorcycle: 02 Fazer FZS600

#2 Unread post by Fast Eddy B »

Nice. And?
02 Fazer 600

Veda
Legendary 300
Legendary 300

#3 Unread post by Veda »

I think you have misunderstood the advice here. Most of the people referring to 600 or 650 cc limits are talking about sport bikes - not cruisers.

Ian522
Legendary 300
Legendary 300

#4 Unread post by Ian522 »

Its not that we are rough on newbies, we just speak the truth and are pretty upfront. The reason alot of us say to buy used, and get a small, beginner-friendly bike, etc. for your first ride is because we learned from our own experiances and are trying to pass the info on to new riders. But there are always some new riders who think they are the exception to the rule and will want to go against the grain.