New Biker- 6' tall female- what bike to get?

hally
Tricycle Squid
Tricycle Squid
Sex: Male

New Biker- 6' tall female- what bike to get?

#1 Unread post by hally »

I'm a 6' tall female, I'm not muscular and I'm very new to biking. I would greatly appreciate any recommendations on a traditional bike to purchase- especially a used one as money is an object! Thanks in advance!

Batan
Veteran
Veteran
My Motorcycle: '82/Honda/CB750F

#2 Unread post by Batan »

If you want a sport/standard bike, I highly recommend a Suzuki GS500E. Very nice ergonomics, I'm 6' and my wife is just under 6' and it's a very comfortable bike for both of us. Plus, it is one of the best beginner bikes as well. It is a light bike at about 370+ lbs.

But go ahead and sit on few bikes at the dealer and see what's comfortable for you.

motomac
Regular
Regular

Re: New Biker- 6' tall female- what bike to get?

#3 Unread post by motomac »

hally wrote:I'm a 6' tall female, I'm not muscular and I'm very new to biking. I would greatly appreciate any recommendations on a traditional bike to purchase- especially a used one as money is an object! Thanks in advance!
----------------------------------------------------------

If you're tall, you don't need to be that strong on a bike....you have leverage.

As for specific models, just try some before you buy. You don't want your legs folded up tight because the seat/footpeg distance is too small. Also, when you're sitting upright on a standard bike, there's a lot of you sticking up to catch the wind, so you'll be pulling yourself forward all the time at highway speeds. A lot of people find the laid back seating position of the cruisers to be comfortable (I don't....that just kills my back within a few minutes), so give them a try also.

Have you taken the MSF course...or any other motorcycle safety course? Often they will have bikes of different styles there for students to use, so riding one during the course will also help you decide.