Motorcycle Parking Questions

Purpledrank
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model

Motorcycle Parking Questions

#1 Unread post by Purpledrank »

I know this thread may sound stupid to some, but I've always wondered what the rules of etiquette and safety are for motorcycles. I'm very new to motorcycles and want to know everything about them before I go out buying one. Is it okay to just park a motorcycle out alongside the curb? What about out in the rain?

These questions may sound like common sense to some, but I would like to know from experienced riders before going out on my own. Remember, I don't know much about motorcycles. ;) Thanks.

JC Viper
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 1984 Kawasaki GPz900R

Re: Motorcycle Parking Questions

#2 Unread post by JC Viper »

It would depend on what city and state or country you live in as each have different rules on parking. In NY we have to park them at an angle to make getting out of a spot easier and also to be more visible and take less space so that other cycles can maybe come and park. Then there's the other way of parking that's been used more so in NYC but not exactly legal and that is to park on the sidewalk. Generally it's okay if the sidewalk is wide enough that the bike won't be in the way and that it cannot block any paths to doorways or the paths to pedestrians but there have been a few strict traffic agents issuing tickets for this behavior though it's pretty rare.

A good motorcycle cover should be used to protect your bike from the elements. I haven't been using a cover much when out and about and my bikes all have stayed out in the rain and snow with little problem, even on the paint job but a cover is still a good idea especially if you don't want thieves to see your bike in plain view.
One thing you can count on: You push a man too far, and sooner or later he'll start pushing back.

Mokushi
Veteran
Veteran
Years Riding: 0
My Motorcycle: Yamaha YBR125