hosiecow
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 0
My Motorcycle: 2006/Kawasaki/Ninja

I need helpful advice, not post-facto criticism, please

#1 Unread post by hosiecow »

So I recently returned from back-to-back tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. I'd been wanting a bike for a while and I unfortunately did not do any research before I bought my bike - a 2006 Kawasaki ZX-10R - just knowing that I was getting a good deal on it. Before I ever got on the bike I sent it to a shop to get it lowered so that I'd be able to ride it. I also took the ABATE Motorcycle Safety course here in Indiana (a well-known/respected course for beginners). As of right now I haven't ridden the bike.

Before you offer me criticism for my decision just know that now, after realizing what a 1000cc bike is, I am afraid to get on it because I'm afraid I'll accidentally kill myself. I'm a mature Army officer who isn't out to prove anything to anyone - I just bought this bike because I was getting a good price and want to ride for fun, not race kids from light to light.

What I'm asking is for some honest advice on how to ride this thing without accidentally killing myself - wheelies, unintended 100+ mph, etc. Again, save your criticisms - I know what I've done and now, like it or not, I own a bike that I'm a afraid to ride.

Thanks in advance.

Balog
Rookie
Rookie
My Motorcycle: Year/Make/Model

Re: I need helpful advice, not post-facto criticism, please

#2 Unread post by Balog »

Have you considered selling it and buying a smaller bike? It seems like "terrified of dying" is not a mental state conducive to working on the fundamentals and monitoring traffic conditions. If you got a good deal you could probably get as much/more than you paid for it, and a smaller bike would be cheaper. Or keep it, buy a small bike now that it's fall and prices are way down, then either keep it til you grow into it or sell it at the start of summer when prices skyrocket.

Johnj
Site Supporter - Platinum
Years Riding: 34