Touring purchase advice, 250 horror, and more!

chris7
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 2
My Motorcycle: 03/suzi/gz250

Touring purchase advice, 250 horror, and more!

#1 Unread post by chris7 »

Hey guys I found this site recently when I was looking for some advice. I've been riding for a year or two now, and I'm looking to move up. I've been riding around in a gz250, and to be honest I'm ready to move up.

I want a bike to go on ridiculous cross-country trips on. I'm a skateboarder, so visiting several states and checking out new parks and traveling just seem like the greatest trip to take.

That said, I'm a college student, so price point is definitively a tough one for me. I'm looking at the ballpark of 4-5K. Or lower.

Feel free to correct my thinking at any point if you find fault:

I need a bike that'll get good gas mileage (fuel injected?), require relatively little maintenance (shaft drive?), take me far without complaining; that's to say, put up with empty gas tank run after empty gas tank run without rest (liquid cooled?) [horror story on this at the bottom of this post], and be able to easily ride two-up with a little baggage on a freeway at +80mph for hours at a time (+500ccs?)

Anyway, that's what I need, I'll likely keep my gz for commuting to school and any around-town riding..

I was really looking at some C50s: the fuel injected, shaft drive, liquid cooled, 800cc's sounds like it should do the job.. (right?) :?

I've seen some C50s and M50s in the 3-4K ballpark in my local craigslist.

Anyway, on to my horror story.... Maybe you can help me shed some light and tell me what lessons i should have learned from this experience: