Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 0
My Motorcycle: 2002 Kawasaki Ninja 500R

Looking to get into motorcycling

#1 Unread post by dspr_02 »

Hey guys!

I will start off by saying that I did read the giant wall of "DON'T BUY A 600cc +" (thrice) and glanced over the "Buying a used bike" and that I intend to have full gear at all times and to take safety / skill courses. I have been checking out bikes, on paper/web, for a good 6 months now and am looking to pull the trigger on a bike. So far I have narrowed it down to two bikes. 2011 CBR250RA or a 2004+ GS500F.

Now I have some questions I would like to bombard you guys with:
- What would I be looking at for insurance with ICBC (BC, Canada) with a 10% discount?
- I know the CBR is a Fuel Injected bike and the GS500F has a carb. Is the GS500F more expensive to maintain because of this?

I had more questions but I am at work and have forgotten most of them (due to constant pestering) so I'll just ask as they come.

totalmotorcycle
Administrator
Administrator
Years Riding: 32
My Motorcycle: 2013 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone

Re: Looking to get into motorcycling

#2 Unread post by totalmotorcycle »

:welcome: to the community and to the very exciting world of motorcycling! ONE WORD OF CAUTION! Once you start riding you'll never be the same again (in a good way) and never look at a road again (in the same way). :D

It's really great to read that you are starting out with a good head full of great knowledge and information! Well done!!

I think you have picked 2 very fine bikes to start out on, either will be fine to maintain, I would say the FI bike would be a little easier in cold riding climates, but the GS500F carbs are nothing to fear and are bullet proof as long as (this goes for anything of course) is kept in good shape.