taxman1965
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 2
My Motorcycle: 2005 Honda Shadow Aero

Deer

#1 Unread post by taxman1965 »

How many of you have ever encountered a deer while riding and did you avoid it or hit it? Obviously, they're a common problem for most riders, unless you live and ride in the city. I'm curious as to how you handled it, what speed were you riding at, and how did you come out of it? I live in a wooded area and I rarely, if ever, ride after 8pm. Whitetails like to get active around here (Northern New York) at that time. I've only ridden at night once since I started riding last summer and I did see two jump across the road on my way home. Fortunately, I was going very slow (around 35) and I picked them up with my high beam. I saw them in plenty of time. I'm a little freaked out by the threat of them, but not much I can do unless I stop riding. There was a guy in our area that was injured yesterday in a motorcycle/deer accident and he ended up with head injuries according to the news...no other details. Kind of scary...

madjak30
Legendary 500
Legendary 500
Years Riding: 13
My Motorcycle: 2006 Yamaha MT-01, 2006 Honda ST1300

Re: Deer

#2 Unread post by madjak30 »

I had a deer experience...

I came around the corner just before sunset last season...there they were, standing on the road staring at me. Two Mule Deer. I was going 110kph (about 65mph) and not enough time to stop, so I went between them. One in each lane, both facing the opposite side of the road. If one of them had bolted I'd have been really hurt or dead. I passed by the one on the left so close I'm sure it could have licked me, but neither moved and everything was fine except my heart was racing a mile a minute...I was lucky!

Later.
-=-= Remember, if you're not having fun you're doing it wrong!! =-=-

NorthernPete
Years Riding: 11
My Motorcycle: 1988 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500

#3 Unread post by NorthernPete »