orlin.anderson
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 1
My Motorcycle: 2004 Kawaski Vulcan 800

HIghway Panic Attack...HELP Please

#1 Unread post by orlin.anderson »

I'm a newbie to street bikes. I have recently been through the BRC about a month ago. I have been riding every chance I get. I LOVE riding in town but I hear how boring it is. I commute to a nearby town where I am a college student (think Billy Madison). There are two ways to get there, one by freeway I90 and the second is on a highway and a 45 mph roads. When I get to the highway the speed limit is 55 mph and that's where the problems begin. It is slightly grooved and when I reach about 45 mph the bike feels really loose. I know its because of the grooves and I do my best to to stay calm but it doesn't work very well. I wish I could chalk it up to the grooves but I cant. When I get on the second road it isn't grooved. On both road and highway at speeds higher than 40 every little bend in the road I tense up and slow down even when there isn't a need to. It seems like every wind gust, corner, or tailgating car send me into a slight panic attack. When I am below 40 I am as comfortable as I can be. Leaning and turning are second nature until at higher speeds. I do not know how to get passed this. I am not going to give up but continue to ride..Any help would be appreciated.
-O-

dr_bar
Site Supporter - Diamond
Site Supporter - Diamond
Years Riding: 44
My Motorcycle: 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Venture

Re: HIghway Panic Attack...HELP Please

#2 Unread post by dr_bar »

Look for an advance riders course, they will help you with techniques and give you a greater skill set.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Four wheels move the body.
Two wheels move the soul!"

pchast
Site Supporter - Silver
Site Supporter - Silver
Years Riding: 10
My Motorcycle: 1980 Suzuki GS550L, 2019 Zero DSR

#3 Unread post by pchast »

+1
That's good advise!

Mentoring and practice, experience, should help