LADIES: Accepting gifts from male bikers?

StradBiker
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male

LADIES: Accepting gifts from male bikers?

#1 Unread post by StradBiker »

I ride regularly with a small group - the hard core riders are myself and two other single women in our 40's, and two married guys in their 60's. I've met all spouses and boyfriends. My problem is this - one of the guys the other day presented me with a receipt (with price cut out) for some things for my bike which I mentioned I wanted to get. (I have the smallest bike in the group, and I only started riding a year ago.) Knowing what this stuff is worth (well over $500), I do feel a bit strange about this. But he can certainly afford it, MUCH more than I can, and he says there are no strings attached.

How many of you have ever found yourself in a similar situation? My BF says the guy is only after one thing, but I don't think so. If this ever happened to you, how did you handle it? Accept it at face value and say thank you? Decline the offer and risk making things really strange? Help!

blues2cruise
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 16
My Motorcycle: 2000 Yamaha V-Star 1100

#2 Unread post by blues2cruise »

Accept it at face value and say thank you. If the gesture really was made out of kindness, then it would be good to be gracious. Sometimes people just like to do nice things for other people.

If later on he starts hinting around, then you could give them back.

TechTMW
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Years Riding: 10
My Motorcycle: 2005 BMW R1200GS

#3 Unread post by TechTMW »

If I may reply ... This guy's intentions, whether legit or not are irrelevant when you consider that your B/F thinks he's trying to hit on you.