LADIES - Another newbie

bikingala
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male

LADIES - Another newbie

#1 Unread post by bikingala »

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie, and was thrilled to find this site and a ladies lounge to boot!

I rode a little bit about 30 years ago...my husband bought a antique motorcycle about a year ago and has been having a blast with it, and I've been itching to get one ever since. A friend recently decided to move up to a bigger bike, and wanted to sell his 1985 Honda 450 Nighthawk...I couldn't buy it fast enough!

Question...I am getting ready to sign up for an MSF course...my husband doesn't think I need the beginning course, thinks it's too basic.
I've been riding about a month now on weekends, but haven't done much except ride neighborhoods, little highway. ..any opinions from anyone on which course I should take? He took the advanced course and passed with flying colors, after about the same period of time riding beforehand, never having ridden before except for a dirt-bike as a kid...

I'd appreciate any opinions.
Anais Nin
Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage.

Nalian
Site Supporter - Platinum
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2011/BMW/F800R

#2 Unread post by Nalian »

While some of the basic course will be review, there will likely be stuff in there that is new to you. It's a lot more than just basic riding.

Loonette
Years Riding: 13
My Motorcycle: 2006/Kawasaki/Mean Streak/best bike ever

#3 Unread post by Loonette »

Welcome aboard!

It's too difficult for us to judge which course you should take. I'm not sure, but I think you need to be licensed before taking the experienced riders course (check with your DMV). Most DMV's provide a license by passing the basic rider's course. It's cheaper to take the basic course in some states than others ($25 in Ohio with ample availability, so it was no big deal). Again, you'd have to check with your state to determine which path is best for you.