I rode to work and...

graymojocat
Regular
Regular
Sex: Male

I rode to work and...

#1 Unread post by graymojocat »

I ran out of gas on the way home on a major highway.

I hadn't ridden to work before and I really enjoyed it. I'm still getting nervous at higher speeds, but I'm sure I'll be okay in time. I was a nervous car driver when I started that.
Traffic isn't so bad because it's not heavy. I'm heading on mostly back roads except for maybe a total of 5 miles.

I was worried about riding home since it's the end of a 12 hour shift at 7am, but I actually enjoyed the cooler weather. And I ran out of gas on a multi lane highway. I was able to coast into the gas station, but that was not terribly fun. :shock:
I didn't panic, but I don't want to do it again.
We don't have a gas guage. I just have to watch the trip meter.
I was less sure of myself during the trip home. I think it was more of the not sleeping for the past 16 hours than the running out of gas because I didn't freak out or anything.
Some idiot was riding my tail and honking at me on a road where the limit was 45 mph and I was doing that. And it's in a residential area so it's not really safe to do much faster than that. :evil: Sometimes people irritate me.
Beginning rider, mother of two.

Thumper
Legendary 500
Legendary 500
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 9
My Motorcycle: '14 BMW F700GS

#2 Unread post by Thumper »

No reserve on your tank? I didn't have one on my SV, but I did have an idiot light that came on when there was just a gallon less. My MP3 has an actual fuel gauge...very nice!

Congrats on the ride to work! People do get impatient behind bikes that are =gasp= doing the speed limit, but all you can do is keep going, or pull over and let them pass. I haven't had anyone sit back there and honk at me, though...probably a good thing because I would have been tempted to slow to a crawl.

Shorts
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold

#3 Unread post by Shorts »