Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 5
My Motorcycle: 2004 Harley Street Glide

Overcoming fear after a crash?

#1 Unread post by clutch »

Hi, Ladies

I'm new here. I'm so glad to find this place!

My fiance has been riding for about 20 years. I've been riding as a passenger for 2 years.

He surprised me and got a Honda Rebel 250. I completed the MSF beginners course in June so I could start riding.

On my first trek outside of the neighborhood, I crashed. I was trying to keep up with him while going around a curve, but I ran off the road.

Three months later, my leg has finally healed up enough to try riding again. So I tried to ride today. I just stayed on our neighborhood street.

Although I thought I was ready physically & emotionally, the fear took over. The only thing I could think was "I'm going to crash! I'm going to crash! I'm going to crash!" I never made it off of our street. And I almost crashed twice!

I want to ride, but I'm afraid to get back on the bike.

How do you conquer your fear after a crash?

Thumper
Legendary 500
Legendary 500
Years Riding: 9
My Motorcycle: '14 BMW F700GS

#2 Unread post by Thumper »

Back in February, I locked up the front brake on my SV (giant blue car pulled out on front of me...no swerving room, but I still should not have locked the brakes up like that) and was launched off the bike. Hitting the ground was not a happy experience (and the moron in the car watched long enough to see me hit, then he left. Such class...) I didn't think I was hurt, but dang I was glad they gave me Percoset in the ER. The next few days were not made up out of happy fun time. Well, other than the Percoset buzz. I did enjoy that.

Once I wasn't so sore, I took my Rebel out for a spin. Didn't think a thing about it until I was actually headed out into traffic...and then it was OHMAYGAWD SOMEONE IS GONNA HIT ME!!!

Where I was comfortable before, suddenly it was NOOOOOOOOOO!

So I kinda get where you're coming from.