newbie needs help with first bike choice.

sumshi_roll
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male

newbie needs help with first bike choice.

#1 Unread post by sumshi_roll »

Well I'm a beginner biker and I'm having a hard time deciding which bike I would like, I'm going to purchase a used bike first before anything else.
Would these bikes be good for beginners? If not can someone please recommend a bike that would be more suited for a newbie?
I'm generally tall, about 5'10''.

Thanks for the help and suggestions guys! So would something more along this be my type?

http://www.buysell.com/root/detail/Nort ... 01++1500cc
Last edited by sumshi_roll on Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Johnj
Site Supporter - Platinum
Site Supporter - Platinum
Years Riding: 34
My Motorcycle: A Bolt of Lightning

#2 Unread post by Johnj »

50hp.
500lbs.
People say I'm stupid and apathetic. I don't know what that means, and I don't care.
Always wear a helmet, eye protection, and protective clothing. Never ride under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Wrider
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold
Years Riding: 4
My Motorcycle: 2005 Kawasaki Z750S

#3 Unread post by Wrider »

Might want to go through and read this thread... viewtopic.php?t=24715
As for your question, neither of those are good beginner bikes, not by a long shot.
I'd suggest starting off on a Ninja 250/500, or a Suzuki GS500, or if you have some dirt riding experience, I'll throw in some Suzuki SV650s and Ninja 650s for your consideration.
Good luck!
Have owned - 2001 Suzuki Volusia
Current bike - 2005 Kawasaki Z750S
MMI Graduation date January 9th, 2009. Factory Certifications in Suzuki and Yamaha

Duffy
Elite
Elite

#4 Unread post by Duffy »

No, I would not suggest those for a new rider.

If your going for the sport bike look/feel then I would suggest these

1. 2008 - recent Kawasaki Ninja250 Image

2. 2006-recent Hyosung 250gtImage

3. Kawasaki ninja 500Image

4. Suzuki gs500Image