Suspension Dial-In for TL-1000R

MullenRacing35
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male

Suspension Dial-In for TL-1000R

#1 Unread post by MullenRacing35 »

Alright guys, I have a really quick question for ya. I'm new to motorcycles and racing in general. My uncle's the one that actually rides, while I have to sit on the sidelines and watch (Can't really afford it at the moment, lol). But anyways, we were talking to some guys at Summit Point at our last race, and they were talking about the suspension setup on the bike. We've got Ohlins on the front and an Ohlins rear. Keep in mind I'm trying to learn more about all this. But they had said the front tire wasn't wearing the way that it should. The rear tires are being chewed to hell and back all the way to the edge (Which is a good thing, lol). Although the front tire is wearing to about a 1/4" from the edge. So they were saying that maybe we should try dropping the front end down a little bit more to help remedy the problem. There's no headshake at high speeds, the bike is handling fine in the corners, it's just the wear that seems to be the problem. I checked today and the front forks are already 15mm above the triple clamps, and I was wondering if it would be a good or bad idea to drop them another 5mm or so (Or however much). Anyways, do y'all have any input on that idea? Any reply would be greatly apprectiated!!!

Thanks guys.

-T
"All It Takes Is A Twist Of The Wrist."

"Ahhh, come on. Just hit it 5th gear pinned! You'll be alright!"

Ninja Geoff
Site Supporter - Gold
Site Supporter - Gold
Years Riding: 7
My Motorcycle: 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650R

#2 Unread post by Ninja Geoff »

Droping them more shouldn't be too bad. Though do it in increments. Drop 5mm, run it a little to see how it feels, and repeat. Eventually, you'll get headshake. You can either deal with the headshake if it's not that bad, get a steering dampener to help prevent shaking, or raise it back up 5mm so it stops shaking.