Dirt Bike Power

Jaymz
Regular
Regular

Dirt Bike Power

#1 Unread post by Jaymz »

Okay so if you followed my other thread looks like a street cycle is out for now for me. I promised my dad I would drop it if when I graduated me and him could take a bike tour across the country to DC (me and him both want to visit but my mom could care less so we never gotten to go) so yea. I was looking at dirt bikes and just wondering for a guy around 300lbs what do I need CC wise? I'm looking basic trail use not motocross kinda stuff so dont need super power but it needs to climb and have decent performance. I figured dirt riding could be a good way to get some basic riding down and curb my desire to ride for some time :mrgreen:

BuzZz
Site Supporter - Platinum
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 47
My Motorcycle: makes my 'nads tingle

#2 Unread post by BuzZz »

Are you going to buy new or used?

Your a big dude, so something in a 350-400cc 4-stroke would probably be a good place to start.
No Witnesses.... :shifty:

emperorjordan
Elite
Elite

#3 Unread post by emperorjordan »

Suzuki DRZ-400. its got lots of power, electric start, and runs and runs and runs with little maintenance, and it can take a beating.
-2005 Suzuki DRZ-400S (The Fast Color).
- FMF Power Core 4
- 3x3" Air Box Mod, DynoJet Kit
- Dunlop D606 Tires
When I die, I want to die like my grandfather--who died peacefully in his sleep. Not screaming like all the passengers in his car

Jaymz
Regular
Regular

#4 Unread post by Jaymz »

I'll check and see what I can find online, looking used. Thanks!

Randy
Legendary 300
Legendary 300
My Motorcycle: 2007/Honda/CBR1000

#5 Unread post by Randy »

Electric start is good.
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer Simpson
05 Yamaha VMAX
04 Suzuki SV650
05 Suzuki RMZ450

Jaymz
Regular
Regular

#6 Unread post by Jaymz »