Sons Of Speed’s Third Race Thrills at New Smyrna Speedway During Daytona Biketoberfest

Daytona, FL (November 3, 2017) – Billy Lane’s thrilling Sons of Speed boardtrack motorcycle race had its third running on Saturday, October 21, during the 25th Chrome Anniversary of Daytona Beach Biketoberfest. The race featured 14 daredevil motorcycle racers who took to the half-mile banked track at New Smyrna Speedway in Daytona Beach.

Top honors went to eBay Jake on his 1919 Harley-powered Sons of Speed racer, earning himself a stunning trophy handmade by Jamey Jordan. This is the second Sons of Speed checkered flag Jake’s taken, the first being at the second Sons of Speed race at the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally earlier this year. Matt Walksler and Matt Harris took second and third, respectively.

“We’re growing with each race,” said Billy Lane, renowned bike builder and founder of Sons of Speed. “Great turnout for this one. Jake’s on quite a run—it’s up to one of us to knock him off the throne at the next one.”

Inspired by early twentieth-century board-track racers, the Sons of Speed race hearkens back to a stripped down, wide-open approach to motorcycle riding. Each racer sat astride identical hand-built racing chassis holding pre-1925 1,000cc American V-Twin engines, and most racers customized their machines by fabricating handlebars, exhaust, fenders, foot pegs and fuel/oil tanks. None of the bikes feature brakes.

The third running of the Sons of Speed race saw some of the best riders and well-known personalities in the business participate, including: Billy Lane, Xavier Muriel, Ken Curtis, Shelly Rossmeyer-Pepe, Buzz Kanter, Dan Toce, Rhett Rotten, eBay Jake, Rick Petcko, Mark Hanna, Freddie Bollwage, Matt Walksler, Brook James, Matt Harris and “Moonshiner” Josh Owens.

Preparations for the fourth Sons of Speed race are already underway, and a new 45-inch class will be added. The fourth running will take place during the 77th Anniversary of Daytona Bike Week in March 2018.


About Sons Of Speed

Sons Of Speed is a motorcycle race inspired by early twentieth-century board-track racing. Featuring stripped-down bikes with pre-1925 American V-Twin engines and a steeply banked racetrack, Sons Of Speed hearkens back to a wide-open, full-throttle, thrilling style of motorcycle racing. Co-founded by veteran motorcycle bike builder Billy Lane, Sons Of Speed races feature some of the sport’s most accomplished riders, builders, and enthusiasts. Past participants include Buzz Kanter (publisher, American Iron Magazine), Shelley Rossmeyer-Pepe (GM, Bruce Rossmeyer’s Harley-Davidson), vintage racer Brittney Olsen, eBay Jake (two-time Sons of Speed winner), Warren and Billy Lane, Rick Petko (of American Chopper fame and master mechanic at Orange County Choppers), Matt Walksler (motorcyclist and Associate Director of Wheels Through Time), “Moonshiner” Josh Owens and Matt Harris, to name a few.

About Michael Le Pard 10080 Articles
"Mr. Totalmotorcycle". Owner and Founder of Total Motorcycle, the World’s Largest Motorcycle Site with over 425 million readers since 1999. Total Motorcycle is my pride and joy and being able to reach 425 million people has been incredible and I could not have done it without the support of my visitors, readers and members...thank you so much! We are all making a difference to millions of riders worldwide.