Enjoying a strong performance on today’s stage of the Desafio Ruta 40, Pablo Quintanilla placed third in the event’s second full rally stage. Getting even closer to the provisional overall lead, the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing rider will continue battling for the top step of the podium at this penultimate round of the 2018 FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship.

Following a well-calculated plan, Quintanilla remained fast and consistent throughout the 317km timed special of stage two. With two long days in the books, the Chilean rally star is second in the overall standings and just 44 seconds behind the provisional leader Toby Price.

Determined to keep on fighting for the overall victory at the 2018 edition of the Desafio Ruta 40, Pablo has eyes set on extending his lead in the provisional FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship.

After today’s long and exhausting stage, competitors will have to tackle what’s promising to be another demanding stage on Wednesday. Featuring a 336km loop around the city of Tinogasta, stage three of the rally includes a 258km timed special.

Pablo Quintanilla: “We had a really hard stage today and it was good to wrap it up inside the top three. The majority of the timed special was off-piste and there were also lots of parts with camel grass. It was a really long stage and that also made it mentally exhausting. I did my best to maintain a good pace today and it paid off. I still have some pain on my back and that made things even harder for me today. Nevertheless, everything is going according to plan for us here in Argentina and we will continue working hard until the end.”

2018 Desafio Ruta 40 Rally – Stage 2 Provisional Classification
1. Toby Price (KTM) 04:16:42
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 04:18:59
3. Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna) 04:22:31
4. Paulo Goncalves (Honda) 04:24:39
5. Lorenzo Santolino (Sherco) 04:29:46
6. Luciano Benavides (KTM) 04:34:55

2018 Desafio Ruta 40 Rally – Provisional Overall Classification [After Stage 2]
1. Toby Price (KTM) 08:30:14
2. Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna) 08:30:58
3. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 08:31:42
4. Paulo Goncalves (Honda) 08:32:39
5. Luciano Benavides (KTM) 08:59:36
6. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 09:11:49

About Michael Le Pard 9815 Articles
"Mr. Totalmotorcycle". Owner and Founder of Total Motorcycle. Supporting over Motorcyclists and Motorcycling for 23 great years. Total Motorcycle is my pride and joy and being able to reach out 375 million people has been incredible but I could not have done it without the support of my visitors, readers and members, thank you so much! You are making a difference to millions of riders worldwide. Thank you.