Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’S Zach Osborne Finishes Championship Winning Season With A Victory At Ironman National!

The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Team finished up an impressive AMA Pro Motocross season on Saturday at the Ironman National in Crawfordsville, IN by claiming another overall victory in the 250 class. 250 rider Zach Osborne has already won the championship, but he put the cherry on top by going 1-1 to earn the final 250 overall victory of the season. Teammate Dean Wilson battled the flu all day but conquered his goal of finishing a strong season. He went 12-10 for 10th overall.

Zach Osborne was second at the start of the first 250 moto and came out of the first lap in third. He navigated his Husqvarna FC 250 back into second the following lap and was within striking distance of the leader. He stayed on the charge for nearly 20 minutes before getting it done with an inside pass for the lead on the ninth lap. Not backing off the pace, he stayed in control and claimed the first moto victory of the day. He was top-three at the start of the second moto and immediately started battling for the lead. He was second at the end of the first lap and was right on the heels of the leader. After stalking the leader for over a lap, he made an impressive inside pass right after the finish line to overtake the lead. He held strong to the finish to go 1-1 and earn his fifth overall win to end his championship-winning season on a victorious note.

“It was a dream ending to a dream season,” said Osborne. “To go 1-1 here today was super special. I finally figured out some things with my starts this week and was able to make it easier for myself. It was a really good day and I’m happy with this ending to the season. I’m looking forward to the Motocross Of Nations and it’s a true honor to represent the USA as the team captain.”

Dean Wilson, battling the flu, was mid-pack at the start of the first 450 moto and ended the first lap in 16th. He made his way up to 13th by the third lap and continued to charge, making one more pass to finish 12th by moto’s end. He was top-five at the start of the second moto, but fell back to 12th by the third lap after a mistake. Never one to quit, he continued to dig deep to get to 10th by the finish. The 12-10 scores gave him 10th overall on the day, and finished the season an impressive 4th in 450 rider point standings.

“I came into the day pretty under the weather and sick,” said Wilson. “I didn’t have any energy and felt really depleted, which made it one of the hardest races I’ve ever done. I still got fourth overall in points, and I’m looking forward to having a great off-season and coming back strong. My goal was 29 races, and I did that. I definitely want to step my speed up. Right now I’m going to focus on getting some rest so I can have a great Motocross Of Nations.”

Ironman National Results

1. Jeffrey Herlings, KTM (1-1)
2. Marvin Musquin, KTM (2-2)
3. Blake Baggett, KTM (3-3)
4. Cole Seely, HON (4-4)
5. Cooper Webb, YAM (6-5)
6. Eli Tomac, KAW (5-6)
7. Weston Peick, SUZ (7-8)
8. Christian Craig, HON (9-7)
9. Justin Bogle, SUZ (11-9)
10. Dean Wilson, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing (12-10)

1. Zach Osborne, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing (1-1)
2. Adam Cianciarulo, KAW (2-2)
3. Colt Nichols, YAM (3-4)
4. Jeremy Martin, HON (8-3)
5. Mitchell Harrison, YAM (5-8)
6. Chase Sexton, HON (10-6)
7. RJ Hampshire, HON (12-5)
8. Sean Cantrell, KTM (6-12)
9. Justin Hill, KAW (11-9)
10. Bradley Taft, YAM (7-13)

1. Eli Tomac (470)
2. Marvin Musquin (453)
3. Blake Baggett (451)
4. Dean Wilson, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing (340)
5. Cole Seely (330)
6. Justin Bogle (308)
7. Cooper Webb (268)
8. Weston Peick (268)
9. Martin Davalos, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing (263)
10. Jason Anderson, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing (216)

1. Zach Osborne, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing (501)
2. Jeremy Martin (420)
3. Adam Cianciarulo (374)
4. Aaron Plessinger (337)
5. Joey Savatgy (324)
6. Dylan Ferrandis (305)
7. Colt Nichols (303)
8. Alex Martin (296)
9. Mitchell Harrison (279)
10. Shane McElrath (248)

About Michael Le Pard 9893 Articles
"Mr. Totalmotorcycle". Owner and Founder of Total Motorcycle. Supporting over Motorcyclists and Motorcycling for 23 great years. Total Motorcycle is my pride and joy and being able to reach out 375 million people has been incredible but I could not have done it without the support of my visitors, readers and members, thank you so much! You are making a difference to millions of riders worldwide. Thank you.